Hacksaw Ridge (2016): Review

Hacksaw Ridge on the surface seems like an epic WWII drama, but what I got out of it was a high budget faith based film.  I can’t say I didn’t like it, but what the film lacked was a story that could enjoyed by secular folk.

This is a very basic story.  Desmond Doss finds his calling to go and fight in the war.  But due to his strong religious beliefs he refuses to carry arms.  This doesn’t go well with his platoon.  Doss goes through some harsh backlash from the military before they honor his decision and it’s only in the battlefield where Doss proves his worth.

All the performances were pretty good.  I haven’t seen Sam Worthington in a minute, so it was good to watch him on film again.  I was worried about Vince Vaughn acting style in the 40’s, but it turned out to be fine.  Hugo Weaving in my eyes had the best performance.  He played troubled very well.  Andrew Garfield was good, nothing spectacular, but still able to carry the story as the lead.

When it came to the action, I knew what to expect.  There wasn’t that many hand to hand combat scenes, but the gun fire and explosions were staged very well.  There were times when I thought the battle scenes were a little too graphic.  The last time I felt that way was when I watched “The Raid 2”.  Out of all the action scenes, the best one was when a young version of Desmond Doss was fighting his brother while their father watched.  I was impressed by the smooth exchanges from the kids.  The hits were very clean and the reaction from them were sold very well.

This isn’t the worst war movie I’ve seen, but this is far from being an Oscar contender.

6/10

 

Leave a Reply

